Frame’s new Grant Committee appointed

Artists Benjamin Orlow and Liisa Roberts, and curators Maaretta Jaukkuri and Taina Myllyharju have been appointed to Frame’s new Grant Committee. Their two-year term starts in December 2023.

The Grant Committee members are appointed by Frame’s Board of Directors for a term of two years. A total of 38 applications were submitted for the open call organised in April. The committee reviews Frame’s grant applications from artists, art professionals and Finnish or foreign organisations seeking support for international projects related to Finnish contemporary art.

The Grant Committee has four members. In the upcoming 2023–2025 term artists Benjamin Orlow and Liisa Roberts and curator Maaretta Jaukkuri will evaluate artist and project applications. Curator Taina Myllyharju will evaluate applications from other art experts such as curators and museum professionals.

Frame distributes funds from the Finnish Ministry of Culture and Education to support international exhibitions, publications, participation in art fairs as well as the travel expenses of art professionals.

Works by Juliana Hyrri, Anna-Stiina Korhonen and Harri Monni at the group exhibition Finsk Fokus presented at Bærum Kunsthall, Norway in the summer 2023. Image: Tor S. Ulstein / Kunstdok.

Frame’s Grant Committee for 2023–2025:

Maaretta Jaukkuri is a curator, writer and professor, who has done an extensive career as a curator of nordic and international contemporary art. Jaukkuri has worked as a Chief Curator at the Kiasma Museum of Contemporary Art, curator at Moderna Museet, Artistic Director at Kunstnernes Hus Oslo as well as a professor in Trondheim University and Fine Arts Academy of the Uniarts Helsinki. A foundation initiated in her name, Maaretta Jaukkuri Foundation, runs in Lofoten, Norway.

Maaretta Jaukkuri. Photo: Petri Summanen / Uniarts Helsinki’s Academy of Fine Arts

Taina Myllyharju is an experienced art museum professional based in Rauma, Finland. Previously she has worked as a Director in the Salo, Oulu and Tampere Art Museums, as a teacher and art critic and in several positions of trust in art and museum organisations. She acted as the Chairman of the Young Artist of the Year advisory board between 2008–2022. Currently Myllyharju works as a curator at the Rauma Art Museum.

Taina Myllyharju

Benjamin Orlow is an artist who received their MFA from Goldsmiths College in London in 2012. Orlow works mainly with sculpture and moving image. His work centers around emotional, social and existential impacts in contemporary life. Orlow’s work has been exhibited in e.g. KANAL – Centre Pompidou Bruxelles, ICA London, Kunsthalle Münster, Fahrenheit Los Angeles and The Tetley in Leeds. In addition to his artistic practice he runs and curates the project space St. Chads in Kings Cross, London.

Benjamin Orlow. Photo: Romain Vennekens / Vice Magazine

Liisa Roberts is a Finnish-American artist based in Helsinki since 2005. She uses a range of media and modalities in her work including film, performance, publications and photographs. Roberts has published and shown her work since 1993, making use of a wide range of venues and contexts e.g. documenta X, Alvar Aalto Library Vyborg and the Whitney Museum of American Art. Her work presented at the 56th Venice Biennale was acquired by MoMA, N.Y. in 2017. She has also created significant educational initiatives at the Academy of Fine Arts, Helsinki.

Liisa Roberts. Photo: Niki Strbian