Frame is an advocate for Finnish contemporary art. We support international initiatives, facilitate professional partnerships, and promote the visibility of Finnish art abroad through grants, a visitor programme and residencies, seminars and talks, exhibition collaborations and network platforms. Frame is the commissioner of Finland’s presentation at the Venice Biennale. Frame is funded by the Finnish Ministry of Education and Culture.
You’ll find the staff contact details here.



We support international partnerships and collaboration within the field of contemporary art.

We promote Finnish contemporary art abroad.

We advocate contemporary art in Finland.




Frame is an expert on international contemporary art and art networks.

Finnish contemporary art has a visible presence abroad and Finnish art professionals are well connected internationally.

Contemporary art is widely recognised as an enriching asset in Finnish society.


The underlying values of our work are equity, freedom of speech and diversity within the arts.

Board of Directors

Frame’s work is guided by a Board of Directors, whose members are all experts in the fields of art and culture.

The members of the Board of Directors for 2018–2021 are:

  • Henna Paunu, Chair of the Board, Chief Curator, EMMA (Espoo Museum of Modern Art)
  • Esa Alanne, Director, The Finnish Cultural Institute in Denmark
  • Hanna Maria Anttila, Director of the Distribution Centre for Finnish Media Art
  • Jan Förster, Director of Kunsthalle Helsinki
  • Jaakko Lindgren, Attorney
  • Anna-Kaisa Rastenberger, Professor, Finnish Academy of Fine Arts, University of the Arts Helsinki
  • Jyrki Siukonen, PhD in Visual Arts

The Council

The Frame Council consists of 13 members representing Frame’s founding organisations.

The members of the council for 2019–2021 are:

Chair of the Board
Lauri Savisaari
City of Tampere

Antti Brunni
City of Espoo

Maija Tanninen-Mattila
City of Helsinki

Timo Simanainen
City of Lahti

Elina Vieru
City of Oulu

Sabine Westerholm
Pro Artibus

Johanna Kiivaskoski
The Fine Arts Academy of Finland

Asko Mäkelä
Finnish Art Society

Joonas Ahlava
Seela Petra Lehtonen

Ilkka Pitkänen
The Artists’ Association of Finland

Olli Immonen
City of Turku

Jyrki Nieminen
City of Vantaa